Warriors. Lives Lost. Forever Changed by 911 – Never. Ever. Forget.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hubby and I just returned from a beach vacation the day before. My suitcase was strewn on the bedroom floor chockful of dirty clothes, and damp bathing suits. For some odd reason, we decided to drive on this trip instead of fly.

The morning of September 11, while getting ready for work, I turned on the TV in the bedroom to watch the Today Show.

As I was brushing my teeth, and listening to the guests that Matt Lauer spoke with, programming was interrupted with the visual of an airplane crashing into one of the two towers of the World Trade Center. I gasped in horror. Black smoke billowing – leaving a trail of heartbreak and destruction…

The world would be forever changed.

Parts of New York City were cut off from total communication. During that time, I worked for MCI as a Circuit Design Engineer and Project Manager. So when the project came down the loop to restore communication as soon as possible to downtown Manhattan and surrounding areas, my coworkers jumped on it. It was our responsibility to find alternate routes for all circuits and communication affected by the outage. With a cohesive team of designers and technicians, we accomplished the task as quickly as possible.

In the coming weeks, after phone service was restored to that area, I tried to contact two of my customers at Cantor Fitzgerald, whose offices occupied space on the top floor of the towers. Weeks prior to the attack, one friend invited me to visit after Thanksgiving and watch the interactive Christmas store windows at Macy’s. Another woman sent me a surprise in the mail – a Hard Rock Café sweatshirt from the New York store her son had purchased.

My futile attempts to contact them left me worried and confused. And to think, just a short time ago, I was laughing with them on the phone.

During this crucial time, many of my coworkers came together as a unit. Some made trips to NYC to help out, and others sent donations. Teams of nurses, firefighters, and police from the Midwest made the long trek to New York – serving as healers, rescuers, and security.

O’Fallon, Missouri erected a memorial from a structural beam from the World Trade Center. If you get the chance, stop by the memorial near highway 40 on Winghaven Boulevard separating, north and south traffic lanes. Take a moment to pray and be silent.

Pray for those who lost their lives.
Pray for their families.
Pray for those still healing today.
Pray for the warriors that gave their lives helping.
Pray for those who made it out alive.
Pray for those whose bodies were never recovered.

And. Never. Ever. Forget.

Leave a Reply

