Once in a Blood Moon….

Did you see it? A blood moon, or total lunar eclipse, a result of the earth’s shadow covering the moon, happened last night.

Hubby, working late, crept into the bedroom and whispered in my ear, “Want to see the blood moon?”

“Yes.”

Arising slowly from bed, feeling like a marsupial, I slowly pulled on my sweat pants, robe, and slippers. Eyes half shut, I glanced at my alarm. 5:43 a.m.

“The best view was from the back yard.”OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Okay,” I mumbled.

Sneaking out the French doors, we tried not to stir the pooches and the cats. I stepped gingerly from the deck to the yard, feeling the cool wet grass brush the sides of my ankles.

Standing at the end of the fenced-in area, we cast a gaze at the moon. Feeling incredibly lucky, the constellations and stars illuminated brighter than we’d ever seen before, and surrounded us like a halo of warmth.

The moon. Oh the moon! Bella!

Bathed in the sky’s light, I glimpsed patches of blood orange and red hues encapsulating the left side of the moon. A small crescent of white burst through on the moon’s right side.

We stood there for several minutes thinking about this phenomenon, awfully glad we took the time to experience the moon in all her regalia.

Although we didn’t capture blood moon photos last evening, here are photos from 5 years ago that hubby snapped.

You know what’s really weird?OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After viewing the eclipse, I crawled back into bed, and fell fast asleep.  In my dream, I was viewing the blood moon with my hubby, dogs, cats and our neighbors, The Boles.

What are the chances of that?

Once in a Blood Moon I suppose….

One thought on “Once in a Blood Moon….

Leave a Reply

