A little Grapefruit Cake, and a Bittersweet Memory

DSCN0543 cake

 

I came across this note written on small yellow-lined paper from my neighbor Bob, an excellent chef. He crafted a beautiful Grapefruit Cake for friend, Donna’s, retirement party.

Along with the cake, he included some personal notes about the cake. I’d like to share the note. It’s so beautifully written.

“For decades the Hollywood Brown Derby was a magnet – drawing tourists from all over America. It was not the great food and drink that drew them; it was the chance to see Bogart, Gable, and Loy. Maybe they would rub shoulders with movie moguls – Louis B. Meyer or Frank Capra.

Two dishes invented there were the Cobb Salad and the Grapefruit Cake.

I’ve done the Grapefruit Cake for the retirement party. I’ve added some touches of my own: grapefruit marmalade, candied grapefruit peels, and a mascarpone icing. The candied peel is an acquired taste – think of it as a garnish – you don’t have to eat it. I hope you enjoy it.”

Regards,

Bob
______________

Well, the Grapefruit Cake was a hit. It is bittersweet that I found these snapshots on my camera today…..we lost Donna’s husband, Robert a couple of months ago….

DSCN0544 lifegroup

Lifegroup doing Life Together

 

Leave a Reply

