Trivia, Porkchops and Applesauce, and Twitter

Image

A week ago our church Lifegroup attended a trivia night at St. Joseph School in Josephville, Missouri to help raise funds for the dance team.

The evening was riddled with questions that stumped, as well as rounds that we aced like ‘famous cars in movies’ and ‘Oscar-winning motion pictures’.  The last round was titled ‘Potpourri’ – a collection of diverse items or subjects.

The final question was fill in the blank – Porkchops and _____________.  The answer, applesauce was provided by friend and tablemate, Jeanne. I quickly scribbled down the answer and raised my hand for the runners to pick up the answer sheet.

A fun night was had by all.  Although we didn’t win, we faired pretty well – 65 out of 100.

The next morning, I received a social media email saying I had a new twitter follower. Guess what I found out? My new friend authored a cookbook titled Porkchops and Applesauce. I thought the coincidence was a little strange, until I opened my refrigerator and realized I had porkchops defrosting for Sunday night dinner!

Coincidence? Maybe….

God Thing?  Definitely.

My intuition told me I needed to connect with this woman. Immediately, I sent her a direct message on twitter and recapped the events from the last 12 hours.

Her name is Cynthia Briggs, and her book, Porkchops and Applesauce, strengthens family values through cooking. And in the scheme of life, I’ve connected with a fellow writer and made a new acquaintance.

Cynthia’s offered to send me her cookbook.  I can’t wait to receive it, and try recipes from the book.

My photo is a from a published restaurant review at McGurk’s Public House.  I would’ve have posted the pics of my porkchops, but they were sooooo good, hubby and I gobbled them up, before we gave it a second thought.

What’s your favorite food to savor with porkchops?

One thought on “Trivia, Porkchops and Applesauce, and Twitter

Leave a Reply

