Some kind words from two state representatives….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ever have one of those days when everything goes just right?  Kind of weird, isn’t it?  I had one of those days January 17, 2014.

After completing a restaurant review and photo shoot for Missouri Life magazine, I stopped by St. Peters Cultural Arts Center to locate my award-winning photo “Dear Kindred Spirit” hanging in an exhibition on the gallery walls.

While there, I stopped by Cindy Dubois’ office, Art Leader for the Center, to inquire about renting a room for a book signing.  Folly Beach Dances, my healing photography and poetry book is due out the end of February.

While speaking with Cindy, she interrupted our conversation and blurted out, “I just remembered something I was supposed to tell you something! Yesterday I received a called about you from State Representative Brian Spencer.”

“Really?”

Cindy riffled threw her notes, found his phone number, and suggested I give him a call.

On my way out, I stopped by the Warrior Wall to take a picture of my photo, and then headed to the parking lot.

Once inside my car, I dialed the number with anticipation. Representative Spencer answered on the first ring.

“Hi, Mr. Spencer, it’s Sheree Nielsen. You wanted to talk to me?”

“Sheree, I saw your story in Community News about the photography award you received.  I feel it’s really important to connect to people in my district, so I’d like to stop by in the next couple weeks and give you a certificate of recognition.”

“Thank you, that would be great,” I answered with surprise.

On the ride home, I thought about my conversation with Mr. Spencer.  I smiled a little.  Then I smiled alot.

As I steered my Equinox down our subdivision’s gravel road, I paused at the bottom of the driveway to retrieve the mail.

Once inside the house, I sorted the mail.  I noticed a small cream-colored envelope.  I flipped the envelope over, and the return address read “Chuck Gatschenberger, State Representative, District 13.”

I carefully opened the textured envelope, and read the hand-written note.

 “Sheree,

 A belated congratulations on winning 1st place for photography from the Humanities Council.  It’s truly a remarkable piece. 

Best wishes for continued success.”

Chuck

Kindred Spirit Congrats Rep Gatschenberger001

Another surprise.  Pretty cool!

This past Saturday, Representative Spencer stopped by the house to deliver the Certificate of Recognition to me.  I graciously accepted.

Comm News from Rep B Spencer001

Hubby, Mr. Spencer, and I talked for awhile about a number of topics. As the conversation came to a close, Mr. Spencer handed us two business cards, and said to contact him anytime we have concerns or ideas about Wentzville.  (He mentioned that Representative Gatschenberger was a pretty nice guy, too.)

The personal correspondence from two different state representatives made me change the way I viewed politicians.  They’re not all bad.  In fact, they’re pretty nice, compassionate guys.

Yesterday, it was no coincidence that our youth minister, Brandon’s sermon encouraged ”take the time to impact people’s lives… talk to people you don’t know. “

Which is exactly what Brian and Chuck did. They reached out, and it made a difference….

4 thoughts on “Some kind words from two state representatives….

Leave a Reply

