No Prayer Wasted…

DSC_1946 Russell on beach revised copyr

Chances are if you’re reading this, you’ve stumbled across my favorite bible verse paraphrased in the title. It’s Philippians 4:6 – Don’t worry about anything, pray about everything.

I try to practice this verse, daily.  Sometimes I forget.

The verse helped comfort me ten days ago when I went in for a temporal artery biopsy.  That’s where they remove parts of your temporal artery to check for an auto-immune disease called temporal arteritis.

Only a thirty minute procedure, I prayed so as not to focus on all the tugging, pulling, and cauterization happening on the left side of my head. I thought about other things too, like what’s my husband doing in the waiting area, did Pastor Tim show up, and where I’d like to eat lunch.

Praying helped me through this time, and before you knew it, the procedure was over.

Then there was the waiting period for the test results.  The surgeon originally said two to three days.  Two days turned into five, five turned into seven, and seven turned into ten.  Finally, yesterday morning, I received the good news test results were normal.  God is good.  Not just some of the time, but all the time.

I turn my thoughts to friend Dave Reed, diagnosed with a rare form of cancer – histiocytic sarcoma. Back in 2012 he was given three months to live.  A testimony that God heals at the hands of skilled physicians, Dave received his second stem cell transplant a month ago.  Last week Dave rang the bell at Siteman Cancer Center in St. Louis. He’s in remission.

Prayer comforts during life’s trial and tribulations. Sometimes when you get that gut feeling, an intuition something is ‘not quite right’ and you need to make a decision, that’s God letting you know, that either way, he’s there for you no matter what.

So this Thanksgiving, pray for a wonderful time with family. Pray for safe travels. Pray that our country. Pray for our veterans. Pray for Aunt Millie or Uncle Johnny. Pray for your babies – even if they’re the four-legged kind.

No prayer is ever wasted.

No prayer goes unheard.

And if you’ve never prayed before, might as well try it.

He’s listening, and he’s got your back.

8 thoughts on “No Prayer Wasted…

  1. I hope you will remain healthy for all your life. In time, your LDL cholesterol can diminish to a safe level. It did with me, though it took a long time. Keep praising the Lord Jesus, & I will, too.

Leave a Reply

