Do you have a Morning Ritual that Centers Around your Pets?

There’s something to be said for a morning ritual.  I could perform it with my eyes closed.

The best part is tending to my four fur babies. Falling out the front door in my robe, sandals, and down-filled Lands End coat, I watch in amazement as my two crazy canines play in the front yard. The neurotic mini Aussie endlessly terrorizes our Bernese/Aussie mix while he is foraging for Bradford pears on the ground, or doing his daily ‘chore’.  Back inside, they receive tasty treats.

I round up their food while I’m cooking instant oatmeal.  Of course, I’ve got to sprinkle some Parmesan cheese on the Purina Dog Chow for a little more flavor.

I grab a mug from the cupboard and heat water for my tea in the microwave.  While it’s cooking, I open the blue pail of kitty kibble located inside the pantry, and scoop out equal portions of two Purina dry favorites into the cats’ mid-century antique food bowl.

Undoing the twist tie that secures the bread, I remove a piece of high fiber bread, pop it in the toaster, and retrieve the butter from the frig. That’s where black kitty diva comes in.  She waits patiently for her butter fix.

As I retrieve the oatmeal from the microwave, I add raspberries, milk, sugar and cinnamon and pop back in for another minute.  During this time, I open the dining room curtains for my special boy – my 3-legged Tuxedo cat.  He loves the sun and his window to the world.

I place my tea, oatmeal, and toast at the kitchen table.  As I sit, four eyes stare up at me, waiting for a ‘treat’ of buttered toast – aka, “Lunker Boy” and “The Princess.”

DSC_0166 Bordeaux and Sabrina crop smaller file copy

This is ‘my time’, and I embrace Charlie, Gayle, and Nora from the CBS Morning Show, and feel content that I’ve taken care of my little animal children.

What’s your morning ritual?

2 thoughts on “Do you have a Morning Ritual that Centers Around your Pets?

Leave a Reply

