A Well Versed book launch, and writing

On Sunday July 14, Donna Volkennant, Marcia Gaye. Lynn Obermoeller, and I made the trek to Columbia, Missouri for the Well Versed Literary Works 2013 Book Launch.  Well Versed is the literary anthology for the Columbia Chapter of Missouri Writer’s Guild.  The four of us were contributing writers.

About a 90-minute drive one way, we shared stories on how we met our husbands, and talked about many topics.  The conversation was easy, like smooth butterscotch sauce flowing in slow-motion over homemade vanilla ice cream.  It seemed as if we’d know each other for years.

And before you knew it, I was pulling into the driveway of the Unity Center in Columbia.

We arrived early, so I foraged a few snacks for my gurgling tummy, grabbed a bottle of water, and settled in for readings from the anthology’s authors.

Lynn Obermoeller read her essay “I Don’t Remember” about a day in seventh grade she had little memory of (except that it was picture day, and the dress she wore was baby poop-colored with paisley stripes).

I read my essay “Breakfast With the Queen” about Midnight, our butter-eating black cat and her morning breakfast ritual.  Two of my poems were in the book.  One poem recalled a snow-white day in winter.  The other poem was a kindergarten memory that scarred me for life.

Eva Ridenour’s poem titled “Dust” was laugh-out-loud funny.

Suzanne Norton’s poem “Rupture”, an emotional poem about birth and rebirth, had me on the edge of my seat.

I noticed something about myself while listening to the book’s authors reading their selected works.

My breathing slowed.

My body relaxed.

My mind was open.  Open to the artistic and imaginative use of words.

Words.  Smart, sassy, funny and raw.

Each writer – a prolific artist.

Each author, vulnerable.

And I enjoyed myself.

One of the lucky ones, I’m proud to say “I’m a writer and loving it”.  Although writers are many, we’re a close-knit group of individuals – spanning the globe.  Connected by email, facebook and twitter — writers know no boundaries.

It’s kind of a weird thing how tight knit we are.  I can’t really explain it, unless of course, you’re a writer.

So here’s to Linda Fisher for doing a fine job as Managing Editor for Well Versed Literary Works 2013.  The authors well represented the anthology.

Looking forward to next year’s event.

Lynne, Marcia, Donna, me, Linda

Lynne, Marcia, Donna, me, Linda

DSC_1595 award crop smaller file

4 thoughts on “A Well Versed book launch, and writing

  1. It was fun getting to know each other better. Thank you for driving. And thank you for reading your work to us.

Leave a Reply

