Dear Kindred Spirit…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMay 22, 2013

Dear Kindred Spirit,

It’s not a coincidence that God brought me to you.

In April, I visited Sunset Beach for the first time.  I heard how Bird Island was a hidden gem!

That day I meandered down the beach, and a little boy threw a bucket of water on me. His actions were followed by an apology…..by his mother.

Sitting on her beach chair, she relaxed reading a book.

We conversed.

“First time here?”

“Yes.”

“You should check out the Kindred Spirit bench on Bird Island.  People from all over the world visit the bench and leave their thoughts and prayers in the mailbox’s journals.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAA salty tear trickled down my cheek.

Being here now is a peaceful feeling.  I’m sure it was meant to be.

As a writer, this spot moves my inner soul.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’m here with new friends Jacqueline and Sandy who are so important to the Kindred Spirit.  Today, they hoisted a flag for Memorial Day and all the veterans we’ve lost over the years.  I call them the Kindred Spirit angels.  They retrieve the journals and send them back to their secret originator.

Jacqueline and Sandy with new flag

Jacqueline and Sandy with new flag

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’m sure I’ll be back.

There are so many people here, now, sharing the spirit.  Everyone is connected to each other.

I pray that my lymphoma never gets any worse than it is, my marriage to grow stronger, and God to watch over my ‘child’ animals, family and friends.

So long for now Kindred Spirit,

Sheree Nielsen

Missouri

Jackie and Sandy with Max who hoisted the flag Memorial Day 2012.

Jackie and Sandy with Max who hoisted the flag Memorial Day 2012.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

8 thoughts on “Dear Kindred Spirit…

  1. It was wonderful meeting you. Sandy and I were thrilled to introduce you to the wonders of our special mailbox on lovely Bird island. We hope you come back often! Keep in touch. Great blog!

  2. Pingback: Meet Me in St. Louis, or at Sunset Beach! « Jacqueline DeGroot

  3. I loved meeting Jacqueline and Sandy too, then accidentally finding your Kindred Spirit post that explained they had raised the Memorial Day flag and helped manage the notebooks there. What a special thing they do and I hope to see them on Sunset Beach again! Nancy

Leave a Reply

