Serenade of the Sea

DSC00172My first thought was to take a trip to the local grocer for provisions for our week in North Carolina.  However, my Australian Shepherd had another plan in mind.

While sniffing around for a appropriate spot to do her ‘bizness’ last eve, I suppose the attraction of the sea air and the fragrant smell of magnolia beckoned her (and me) to cross the road, full of rental properties, to the beach access.

Before I could say Abracadabra, my curious canine stepped gingerly in the sand, sprinted up several steps, and hopped onto the weathered boardwalk.

I met a wonderful thirty-something couple at the lookout point.  They told me of their attraction to Sunset Beach.  No crowds, no worries – just total relaxation.

The guy admitted he wasn’t fond of people.

Enter a friendly dog with pair of ice blue eyes who adores humans.

In seconds, the young man dropped any personal walls and was shaking ‘paws’ with my Brina.

After the conversation drew to a close my animal child looked at the crashing waves, and gazed up at me with approval.  The corners of her mouth began to turn up.  Yes, dogs do smile.

And if she could’ve talked, I imagined she would have said, “C’mon Mom, let’s go!”

All it took was a look from Miss Brina, and I was racing down the beach.  With the wind blowing through my hair, I felt wispy as a seagull soaring overhead.

 The ocean has its mysterious way of drawing you in.  And then it wraps its gentle arms around you with her loving embrace.

Can’t wait to what surprises lie ahead.

But for now, I’ll am thankful for the moment….

3 thoughts on “Serenade of the Sea

Leave a Reply

