Review of Not Your Mother’s Book on Travel

Travel coverA surprise came in the mail yesterday in the form of a contributor’s copy on Not Your Mother’s Book on Travel.

The book looks super, and is an effort from writers all over the world created by Dahylnn McKowen, Ken McKowen, and Terri Elders.  Dahylnn and Ken have over 60 years writing and publishing experience, with ten of those years spent as consultants and coauthors for four Chicken Soup Series.  Terri has traveled the globe with the Peace Corps.

So excited, I couldn’t wait to dig into the book.  Russell and I motored to the local Starbucks yesterday, I ordered a wet cappuccino, and I opened the pages of the anthology.

Three local authors and I are holding a book signing at the Barnes and Noble Store in St. Peters, Missouri on June 1. Naturally, I was curious to see their final creation, so I skimmed the Table of Contents until I located their specific chapter.

Linda O’Connell’s “Ordering A la Carte” was set on a cruise ship.  Her main character had me laughing out loud. The staff at Starbucks had to turn around to see the commotion I was causing.  My laughter, now infectious, had them laughing, as well.

I shrieked with laughter as I read, Greg Lamping’s “They Only Come Out at Night” about an overnight camping trip and the critters he and his wife encountered.  I’m glad I was wearing a Depends, ‘cause I almost peed myself.

And Sioux Roslawski’s “Half Right” made me smile from ear-to-ear.  While in France, do as the French do.  Nuff said.

I searched for other writer friends in the book…

“My Breakfast at Tiffany’s” by Elynne Chaplik-Aleskow was one woman’s whimsical recreation of a scene from a movie classic.  New York City in the early morning…  I could almost picture myself in Elynne’s shoes.

Another Missouri author, Mary-Lane Kamberg wrote about flying when the swine flu epidemic was in the news.  “When Pigs Fly” is priceless.

And of course, my essay, “No Bad Juju Allowed” is about keeping your sense of humor on a scuba live-aboard during Tropical Storm Jerry.

Terri Elders has stories in the anthology as well. Can’t wait to meet her – she seems pretty cool.  I’ll see her at our book signing.

So go get your copy of “Not Your Mother’s Book… on Travel” by Publishing Syndicate.  You won’t be disappointed.  The authors in the book are rare gems.

Leave a Reply

