New Publication – Gateway to Wright – Missouri Life

Last fall, I sent a proposal to my editor at Missouri Life for an idea on a famous home.  I receive a contract for a feature story with photos for the Frank Lloyd Wright Home in Ebsworth Park.  A fan of Wright’s for many years, I was ecstatic to receive the assignment.

After contacting Joanne, the home’s board chairman, we set up a time for a tour.  Although I’d visited the iconic structure before with hubby and family, the second time around left me with a new found appreciation for Wright’s concepts and architecture.

Over the course of my assignment, my love affair with Frank Lloyd Wright deepened.  His Japanese-inspired influence, use of geometric shapes and natural materials made him all the more appealing to me.

Joanne mentioned I was only the third photographer allowed to capture the home’s interior, and the first photographer to have a published photo of the Cherokee Red gate at the entrance of the home.  I’m the first writer/photographer to do a story on the home fact-checked by the board chairman.

Joanne sent me a very nice email on February 8, 2013.

“Dear Sheree,
I was able to buy Missouri Life this week and saw and read the article.  It is outstanding!  The photography is amazing.  Thanks for taking so much time to hone the article and make it as interesting and as accurate as possible.
We are going to distribute the article widely to our friends and patrons.  It is a great tribute to your perception and to the house.
Thanks so much.”
Joanne

_______

Hope you enjoy the article.  It’s one of my proudest achievements.

With the exception of one photo, I used ambient light to capture the home’s essence.

Click on the link and copyrighted material below:

Mo Life Feb 2013 – LR FLW

6 thoughts on “New Publication – Gateway to Wright – Missouri Life

  1. Pingback: Letters From All Over – Missouri Life – Tribute to Frank Lloyd Wright | Sheree's Warm Fuzzies

Leave a Reply

