While Canine Parents Are Away, Sabrina Will Play

"The Collector"

Yesterday, my husband and I drove up to see his mom and brother for Christmas in Decatur.  We left our two-year old newly adopted mini Aussie, aka Sabrina, home alone.  To ensure she was happy, that morning before we left, I fed her, and took her for a long walk along our usual route.  Before heading out, I pulled her doggie bed in the living room, turned on the TV, and placed my tennis shoes next to her bed.  She likes shoes.

Apprehensive about leaving her alone, I suggested to my husband that we kennel her.  He replied, “We will never know what she does until we leave her alone.”  That made sense.

I closed the door to my office and my husband’s bathroom, gave the cats and Miss Sabrina a hug and a kiss, and we were on our way.

After a nice drive home listening to Christmas carols on the radio, I checked my watch.  It had been close to nine hours since our departure this morning and two hours longer than the last time we left Sabrina alone.

I opened the door to the kitchen.  Sabrina was itching to get out, her tail-less butt awaggin’.  I explained that she needed to “do her business” but all she wanted to do was jump around and play.

Once inside, my husband said to me, “You’re going to love this!”

I walked into the living room and this is what I saw –

An elephant-baby

A snake-baby

A hard bone

A multi-colored ball

An orange-colored fish cat toy (in front of the reindeer)

My husband’s hacky-sack ball

A leather Birkenstock sandal

A tennis shoe

A Sorrel fur boot placed carefully atop Russell’s monkey houseslippers

A yellow mouse cat toy

Another tennis shoe

and a houseslipper.

Even Midnight, our black cat was astounded.

Seems Sabrina was a busy girl while we were away.  An appropriate nickname for her would be “The Collector.”  She obviously missed us because as soon as we settled in she fell fast asleep.

"All in a day's play"

One thought on “While Canine Parents Are Away, Sabrina Will Play

Leave a Reply

